End of an Era (Birth of a Spirit)

Well, class is over. My last post was all about what it took to complete the final project, which was a mad scramble. The lamp still isn’t quite working the way I would like it to, but I’ve got some time to tinker with it over the month of August, so I fully expect things to be complete very soon, at which time I will post pictures. The main thing I’d like to stress with this post, the last of this particular chapter, is that the making will continue, even though our class has ended.

This class awakened a maker spirit in all of the participants, and what’s great about that is that we will spread that spirit to others around us. The idea of a makerspace is really new to many of my friends and family, but almost everyone I explained it to got pretty excited. I got feedback like “Oh, cool, I’d like to use a 3D printer,” or “I wish my library had one of those,” or “Hey, I do stuff like that all the time–didn’t know it had a name!” I’ve been interested in the skills of many of my friends–whether they create clothing, make guitars in their garage, garden, build furniture, experiment with new recipes–the ideas are endless! We all have a maker in us, whether we call it that or not.

Fall will be jam packed with school assignments, work, holiday plans–but I already have ideas for more projects. I’d like to get back to cross-stitching, for instance, as I have a few pieces I’ve put on hold for years. I’d like to build some small pieces of furniture for my house. I know that my classmates all have plans like this, and I look forward to seeing what they produce.

Keep up the Maker spirit, folks! And keep writing about it; it’s up to us to spread the word.

Leave a Reply

