A Light (or a Lamp) at the End of the Tunnel

Well, our class is coming to an end. I’m sad at the prospect, even though it will be nice to have two more evenings a week free. I liked the atmosphere in class–everyone helping each other and learning how to do new things. I’m really looking forward to our little Maker Faire this week, where everyone will present their ultra cool projects.

Mine (the lamp) had some ups and some downs. There was a lot of trial and error involved, some serendipity, and some disappointment. However:

Lamp005

Oh my goodness it works! Which makes me feel like:

CelebrationDance

Of course, this result did not come smoothly. First of all, my idea of creating a changeable fabric covering did not work the way that I planned. The snaps would not stick to the wood, even using Krazy Glue. Clearly a stronger adhesive was required, but I did not have one on hand. So my plan changed to gluing the fabric directly to the wooden frame. So in the future it could be changed, but it would be a little trickier.

Then, the worst part: my led strip, which lit perfectly before when connected to my salvage store purchased power supply, all of a sudden would not light. Double D’oh! It will light if I press on the area where the barrel plug connects to the led tape connector, but it’s not ideal. However, this is probably a sign that I need to keep working on a battery powered fix, which was my original intent anyway. For now, I’m going back to the salvage store and trading in the power supply–and this time I’ll bring the lamp for testing! I suspect it is a failure on that end and not in the led tape, as the power supply is older and had been stored with the cord very twisted. So we’ll see.

I’m still pretty darn giddy. My first major project, and it’s (mostly) a success! With a little experimentation, I expect to have an excellent final product very soon.

 

One thought on “A Light (or a Lamp) at the End of the Tunnel

Leave a Reply

