The Great Maker Caper begins…

Thanks for visiting my blog! The posts to come in the next two months (and beyond, I hope) will be focused on learning more about the Maker movement and taking steps to become more of a Maker myself. How will I do this? Through my summer 2014 class in the MLIS program at St. Catherine University, Content Creation. We will be working on activities such as video and audio production, photo-editing, 3D printing, and vinyl cutting.

I was interested in this class because I like the idea of maker spaces, both in and out of the library. I admit that I don’t know much about the technology involved, but I am excited to learn new things. In the readings so far, I’ve been impressed by the emphasis on collaborative learning and teaching others what you know. Part of a library’s role in the community is encouraging exploration, creativity, and knowledge, either by providing access to information or providing space for community members to get together and explore. Including a maker space in a library is another way to do that.

All of the creative tools that we will be using together sound interesting, and I like that I haven’t used any of them very much. Sometimes just diving in and playing around with something is the best way to figure out how it works. Also, I’m sure that some of my classmates might have some experience with these things, and I know that librarians can’t help but share what they know. I’m looking forward to seeing what everyone comes up with for our Maker Faire at the end of the semester!

That’s about it for now. I’ll keep everyone posted on future developments.

